Developer forum

Forum » Ecommerce - Standard features » Module Configuration - Ecommerce

Module Configuration - Ecommerce

Nancy Morano
Nancy Morano
Reply

Hello,

We recently went into the back-end to uninstall several of the different ECOMMERCE STANDARD MODULES that are not needed for a customer.  We experienced a problem with the uninstalled Modules still appearing in the main site tree.

This was done under:  SETTINGS>System>Module configuration and then select the ECOMMERCE tab.

We de-selected several of the STANDARD MODULES (example, Quotes, Recurring orders, Loyalty points, Vouchers and Gift Cards) to uninstall them.  We saved our changes.

We can see within the Module configuration that those are now displaying under NON-INSTALLED MODULES.

However, after refreshing the site, these non-installed MODULES continue to be shown in the main site tree within ECOMMERCE.

We would like to be able to hide these Modules for this customer (and have this ability for future implementations).  Can this please be fixed? 

Note: This is on version 9.5.8.

For additional information, here is a screencast recording of this issue:  https://www.screencast.com/t/oahImPLeh

Thank you,

Nancy Morano

Platform Specialist

DWNA

Replies

 
Morten Bengtson
Morten Bengtson
Reply

Hi Nancy,

I don't think that changing the module configurations is the right way to handle this.

You can control access to (and visibility of) nodes in the  ecommerce tree by setting up permissions. How you do that will depend on whether you have enabled the new permission model or not.

Permissions (old)
You, as an administrator, can right click the nodes in the ecommerce tree (Quotes, Recurring orders, etc.) and set permission to "No control" for "All" (or specific user groups or users) who should not see those nodes.

Permissions (new)
You, as an administrator, can right click the nodes in the ecommerce tree (Quotes, Recurring orders, etc.) and set permission to "None" for the user groups or users who should not see those nodes.
You can also set permission to "None" for the system role "Authenticated users (backend)". However, this also means that you as an administrator cannot access that feature anymore - and you cannot change the permission back if you need that feature later, so be careful with that :)

Best regards,
Morten

 
Nancy Morano
Nancy Morano
Reply

Hi Morten,

Thank you so much for your quick response.  It is appreciated.

Is there no other way to hide the unused modules other than using permissions? (the issue is that we want to hide them for administrators too).  Using this permission method creates the problem that we can't hide for administrators without locking ourselves out. 

Thanks again,
Nancy Morano

 

 
Nicolai Pedersen
Nicolai Pedersen
Reply

Hi Nancy

There are no other ways. The license file controls access to modules - and of course being an administrator.

But instead of providing a 'real' administrator to your customer, create your own - one not marked as administrator in the Ribbon bar, but maybe still using the name Administrator, and set permission on that user.

BR Nicolai

 
Nancy Morano
Nancy Morano
Reply

Hi Nicolai,

Thank you very much for your response.  We were hoping that there would be an easier way to hide unneeded modules.  This method of using Permissions is going to require a lot of effort to set-up and manage, therefore, we are going to dismiss this idea for now. smiley

Thanks again for your follow-up,

Nancy Morano

 
Nicolai Pedersen
Nicolai Pedersen
Reply

Hi Nancy

It should be fairly easy, 10 mins maks, to setup these permissions.

First of all you have the permission matrix which makes it possible to set permissions for all of the overall areas of the system, see this section: https://doc.dynamicweb.com/documentation-9/users/user-management/permissions#7446

And also the default group permission fallback can come in handy if you want to give access to everything except a few things, see: https://doc.dynamicweb.com/documentation-9/users/user-management/permissions#sideNavTitle1-4

So to create your own versions of administrative rights, create a new group "Administrators", set default permission to "All" and then open the permission matrix and remove access to those few areas that they should not have access to. You have to right click each app though from the app overview to set their permissions. But should be done relatively fast.

BR Nicolai

 
Nancy Morano
Nancy Morano
Reply

Thank you so much for this information Nicolai.  We really appreciate you taking the time to address how to set-up these permissions.

I will follow-up with Scott F. on this and we will determine if this is something that we want to implement.

Thanks again,

Nancy Morano

 

You must be logged in to post in the forum